MomentMusic [Apr-24-17 8PM]

Listening to: Gravity [Shawn McDonald]

Annnnd the late night posts return!

Saturday night, I was ironing a bunch of clothes for my family, and the parents were out shopping- it was just my brother and me at home and for me that usually means…LOUD MUSIC! BREAK FROM HEADPHONES! FREEDOM TO SING OUT LOUD! Besides, I needed that opportunity because it was a trying day; I found myself clutching at ways to feel better and singing along to my old college playlist did the trick, which included everything from anime soundtracks, to 90s/early 00s CCM of course.

This one tune came on and I had to stop my mindless, melodious attempts at catharsis and become mindful of the lyrics…this tune, was Gravity by Shawn McDonald.

Now, there are a lot of songs titled “Gravity” that I like; Christafari’s Gravity (bassline for DAYS), Detrick Haddon’s Gravity, John Mayer’s Gravity (JOHN MAYER’S GRAVITY!!!!!!!), and Sara Bareilles’ Gravity….just for starters LOL! But as it currently stands, the Gravity that I relate the most with, is Shawn McDonald’s. 

This was a song I LOVED back in the day because of, say it with me, the musical arrangement. The flick strums, the simplicity and Shawn’s rhythmic singing style hooked me; not to mention the progression~~~ right up my alley. But it wasn’t until Saturday, April 22, 2017 at about 10:30 pm that I realised this song was my desperate prayer in song, at that very moment.

I don’t want to fall away from You
Gravity is pulling me on down
I don’t want to fall away from You
Gravity is pulling me to the ground

I wasn’t one of those rebellious teens or curious early twenty-somethings. I had a good head on my shoulders and a strong character standard…for the most part, I had my life and my act completely together, despite influences that may have been around me. I’m still focused in my faith now, I haven’t backslidden I promise! But all of a sudden, it’s hard. Simple things y’know- it’s harder to be nice, kind and gentle, it’s harder to give the benefit of the doubt and think the best of people, it’s harder to trust people (lol this actually was always a struggle), it’s harder to give up control (also was always a struggle); it’s easier to be miserable all the time because “life is hard” and it’s easier to think “I’ll do that tomorrow”…where did my discipline go? Where did my ability to be ‘above it’ and be the bigger person go? Why is it easier to entertain thoughts of things I would NOT have thought of before? Is it because I’m not being careful anymore, or am I not strong anymore?

No. I’m just growing up, physically and spiritually; which means now I have to be battling things. The “gravity” of the world around me- the sin, the stress, the philosophy of the day, the people and even the simple temptations are taking a toll and I can recognize easily why people just slide all the way down, because it’s hard to fight to stay up; I can recognize easily why the seed sown among thorns got choked in that parable- the cares of this life, which can often bring out the worst in you. But what do you do when you see yourself, in the little things, slipping, and it seems to be a bit beyond you, to pull up your socks and you don’t want to start slipping in the bigger things? Reach up and talk out, and not just to anyone either, they’ll probably give you terrible advice. Talk to God. Plus, there’s an enemy out there waiting for us to fail…if he can’t mess us up completely, he’ll try to discourage us, distract us and keep us from talking to God altogether. So do just that; talk to God. Pray.

This world keeps making me cry
But I’m going to try, going to try to fly, going to fly high
Don’t want to give into the sin, want to stay in You ’til the end
Don’t want to lose my sight of You
Don’t want to lose my sight

Don’t let me lose my sight. If I could just keep focus on the God of the storm, I won’t sink. The reason why everything started to seem so beyond my reach, was because I started relying on my own strength of character instead of God’s Holy Spirit and His daily help. I gotta furiously keep my focus on the One who can make me right. He can make me be nice, kind and gentle in a world full of frustrating people with frustrating tendencies; He can make me optimistic and hopeful about people and situations despite previous experiences; He can make me disciplined and prudent, even if I feel despondent or lazy…I ought to rely Him for help, everyday.

He did tell us to cast our cares on Him; not like we won’t have cares but when we do, He offered to take them, which frees us up to be better, more loving, more fruitful humans. Why on earth won’t we take Him up on His offer?


TL;DR – Before life’s gravity pancakes you completely, reach out to the God who can keep you elevated, keep you hopeful and keep you alive. We can always tell God that we don’t want to fall away from Him, when gravity is pulling us to the ground…just like Shawn McDonald did in his gorgeous song, Gravity (which you need to add to your “mellow vibes playlist”; don’t have one? Make one LOL). 1 Peter 5:7 – “Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.”

Leave a Reply

